First Coast Invasive Working Group

A five county task force working to prevent and control invasive species in Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau & St. Johns counties

The First Coast Invasive Working Group’s (FCIWG) is a Cooperative Weed Management Area (CWMA) that got established in December 2006 to work across Federal, State, Local, and private lands for invasive species management.  The FCIWG is one of the many statewide regional partnerships that is helping the State of Florida prevent and control invasive species.

The FCIWG has focused its resources in the five NEFL county area of Baker, Clay, Duval, Nassau and St. Johns counties. The region includes key natural areas stretching from the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge and the St. Marys watershed to the Anastasia and Guana State Park area. The five county area allows the FCIWG to manage at a scale large enough for viable early detection and rapid response control efforts while remaining manageable.


tnc ffwcc fl-dacs fldot fdoep industry usfws NPS usfs coe usdanrcs ufl unf tree hill nature center seagrant fl native plant society student conservation association fl native areas inventory baker county duval county and Jax city of atlantic beach nassau county fernandina city clay county st johns county st johns river mgmt district white oak plantation jacksonville arboretum and gardens Jax Zoo